E.H. Fairfield’s photo album – First photos

Scanned by Steve Daoust.

All photos will be documented later by Lee Walsh and other knowledgeable readers so updates will follow.

Rare Fleet Fort – about 100 built and used by the RCAF flight training schools. Cannot make the serial number under the wing though as it would help id where this was taken. (Lee Walsh)

Harvard FE458 that was used by 129 Squadron up at RCAF Station Gander. (Lee Walsh)

No. 1 OTU Hurricane 5469 flown by H.G. Upham (J.13455) on May 17, 1943. (Lee Walsh)

Solved!

Probably taken at No. 129 (F) Squadron

Believe it or not story… Hurricane 2-T

 

Sometimes it takes time to get it right – Fairfield… Update

Original post

This was written a while back… It was about a Spitfire pilot. Ivor Williams has identified him as Ferguson.

How could we argue with Ivor Williams who was part of 443 Squadron?

Now let’s go back in time on this blog.


Lost somehow in translation…

Hi Nicole and Pierre,

I misunderstood your email Nicole. I will make the correction. Therefore, the last unknown pilot (originally identified as “Ferguson” is in the back row on the far right.

This must be E.H. Fairfield.

Tara

new identification 443 January 1944

Squadron photo Jan 1944 Fairfield

Hal Fairfield modified picture

E.H. Fairfield

RCAF 443 Squadron pilots (Art Sager's collection)

Please feel free to contact us.

24 November 2023

Hello Everyone,

I just got off the phone with Lee. Another amazing find here in Spencerville. We have found Harold’s personal photo album. Since there are quite a few pictures I am going to forward snapshots of pictures from Harold’s album using my Ipad. I will be sending three to five pictures at a time so they will go through. I am hoping Jim will be able to assist with picking out Harold in some of the pictures especially the pictures of the squadron. I don’t have any background on the majority of the photos but perhaps some of you might be able to shed some light on them. I will check the backs of the photos to determine if there is any additional information.

If anyone requires a better picture of a particular photo please let me know and I will see what I can do.

Cheers,

Steve

To be continued…